A word on husbands

Travis got on my nerves today. (He doesn’t know it, but he will now!)  Bear with me here, I think you’ll like the outcome. I won’t go into detail why I was a little put out with him. (Come on, ladies,  you know we’re all “put out” every now and then) Then, it came to me so strongly that there are many, many women out there who would love to have a husband at home for the evening sitting on the couch. (There, now you know what was getting on my nerves. 🙂 ) Many men are out at the bar tonight. I believe with all my heart that my husband would be one of those if it were not for God. There are many wives wondering when and if the daddy of their children is  coming home tonight. They have no idea where he is or where he has been. Then there are those husbands that never lift a finger and let the wife make a living for them while they become couch potatoes.

I made a concious effort to major on the good things today. My husband emptied and reloaded the dishwasher! When I came home from WOW, the kids were happy after spending the evening with daddy (even though they hadn’t had a bath and it was bed time).  He worked hard today. He remembers trash day — usually. He cooks some really yummy Italian food. He is a good listener.  Of course, there’s much more, but I won’t bore you. Most importantly, he loves God and leads us to Him.

We wives with God-fearing husbands have so much to be thankful for!

9 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

9 responses to “A word on husbands

  1. janiece

    Good post! You’re not the only one who has these days : ) We are blessed to have good husbands!

  2. Liz

    Amen! To all of it.

  3. Yes, we are blessed! (Just sometimes we have to remind ourselves of that when they do really stupid stuff…in our humble opinions!) 🙂

  4. Great thoughts, Jody. We all need to be reminded how good we really do have it! A friend told me the other day that Tony needed to start practicing for middle of the night diaper changes. I told her we have an understanding…I do the middle of the night stuff and he gets up and goes to work!! And in addition to that…he helps me with all the other housework too (most of it anyway). He really is too good to me. I better thank him when he gets home 🙂

  5. Karen Walden

    I too have those same thoughts Jody! Jonathan has been home for 2 months now without a job! What a “trial” it has been for both of us!

    Last night my husband was at a church board meeting for 4 hrs though!!! 🙂

    Thanks for reminding us to be thankful for our wonderful men in our lives!

  6. Gina (Travis's mom)

    Well now you know why I sang “Thank God and Gray Hound Bus” when he got married and left home:).

  7. Cheryl Watters

    Great post, Jody. I enjoy reading your blog (when you update it) hehe – I know! I am bad at remembering to update mine also, but I do enjoy reading yours.

  8. Sharra Derscheid

    Loved your post! When I first started reading it, I just laughed out loud, but you are so right. We are blessed!

  9. Valorie

    Wonderful thoughts, Jody! Good reminder. We can all identify . . . .was so good to be with you and your family at Heartland Youth Camp this summer. Looking forward to spending time with you someday soon . . .let’s set a date to do some shopping or get a latte or something!!

Leave a Reply

